NOTE: These minutes were approved and executed at the September 21, 2018 Independent Investment Committee meeting.

Independent Investment Committee Meeting August 7, 2018

Public Minutes

New Hampshire Retirement System 54 Regional Drive Concord, NH 03301

Committee Members (by telephone): Maureen Kelliher, Chair, Christine Clinton; Tim Lesko; and Keith Quinton. Daniel LaPlante; absent.

NHRS Trustees (by telephone): Bill Hart; and Bob Maloney.

Staff (by telephone): George Lagos, Executive Director.

Staff: Larry Johansen, Director of Investments; Timothy Crutchfield, Chief Legal Counsel; Marty Karlon, Public Information Officer; Greg Richard, Senior Investment Officer; Shari Crawford, Junior Investment Officer; and Ashley Lloyd, Junior Investment Officer.

Ms. Kelliher called the meeting to order at 2:04 p.m.

The meeting was scheduled to discuss the rapidly evolving situation regarding global fixed income manager, GAM.

Mr. Johansen updated the Committee on the recent suspension of Tim Haywood, Investment Director, Business Unit Head and leader of the portfolio management team of the GAM Unconstrained Bond Fund ("Fund") in which NHRS invests. He provided a detailed review of the subsequent calls that took place with NEPC and GAM regarding Mr. Haywood's suspension and the most recent recommendation by NEPC to terminate the System's investment in the Fund. A discussion with the Committee followed.

Ms. Kelliher entertained a motion to affirm the action of the Director of Investments to terminate the System's investment in the Fund. Further, the Director of Investments is authorized to rescind the System's request to terminate the investment in the Fund at any time if it is determined by the Director of Investments that such action is in the best interest of the System and will preserve the assets of the trust. Liquidated funds are to be transferred to the Cash Account until a suitable replacement investment is identified.

NHRS Independent Investment Committee August 7, 2018

Mr. Quinton made the motion and Mr. Lesko seconded the motion.

The vote on the motion was conducted by roll call.

Roll call vote:

Aye: Ms. Kelliher, Ms. Clinton, Mr. Lesko, and Mr. Quinton.

Nay: None

Motion carried.

Mr. Johansen updated the Committee on the status of the rebalance of the domestic equity portfolio as well as the status of the termination of the AberdeenStandard investment.

Ms. Kelliher entertained a motion to adjourn the meeting.

Ms. Clinton made the motion and Mr. Lesko seconded the motion.

The vote on the motion was conducted by roll call.

Roll call vote:

Aye: Ms. Kelliher, Ms. Clinton, Mr. Lesko, and Mr. Quinton.

Nay: None

Motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 2:21 p.m.